Section 504

Section 504 – Rehabilitation Act of 1973

 

What is Section 504?

Section 504 is a federal civil rights law which protects the rights of persons with qualifying disabilities. It requires that recipients of federal funds make their programs and activities accessible to all persons with disabilities that interfere with major life activities such as: caring for one’s self, performing manual tasks, walking, seeing, hearing, eating, sleeping, walking, standing, lifting, bending, speaking, breathing, learning, reading, concentrating, thinking, communicating and working.
If there is reason to believe that, because of a qualifying disability, a student needs accommodations, the school district will review the student’s information and develop and implement an accommodation plan.

The type of information reviewed includes but is not limited to:
Grades
Teacher reports
Test scores
Medical and/or psychological evaluations
Parent information

Only when the disability substantially limits the student in a major life activity are they considered eligible under Section 504 for accommodations.

Where can I find more information on Section 504?

For more information, please read the Hutchinson Section 504 Manual.
*Insert Hutchinson 504 Manual*

School Contacts

Each school building has a coordinator for students who have a need under 504. If you have concerns about your child’s education or access to education because of a physical or mental impairment that substantially limits a major life activity, or have questions about Section 504, you can contact the following people:

West Elementary School

Jessica Bouta
320-587-4470
jessica.bouta@isd423.org

Park Elementary School

Jill Bridge
320-587-2837, ext 1228
jill.bridge@isd423.org

Valerie Huepenbecker
320-587-2837, ext. 1227
valerie.huepenbecker@isd423.org

Hutchinson Middle School

Keri Buker
320-234-2633
keri.buker@isd423.org

Hutchinson High School

Juliana Delgado
320-587-2151, ext 2711
juliana.delgado@isd423.org

Dave Ellefson
320-234-2696
dave.ellefson@isd423.org

Sherry Mischel-Nagy
320-234-2695
sherry.mischel-nagy@isd423.org

District Contact

Lisa Kraft, Director of Special Services
320-587-2860
Lisa.kraft@isd423.org

Hutchinson Public Schools

Hutchinson Public Schools